Republic of Turkey
© Vlada Photo –
Share >

Republic of Turkey

Turkey (Turkish: Türkiye), officially known as the Republic of Turkey (Türkiye Cumhuriyeti in Turkish), is a Eurasian country that stretches across the Anatolian peninsula in Western Asia and Thrace (Rumelia) in the Balkan region of southeastern Europe.

Turkey’s neighbour countries are Bulgaria, Greece, Georgia, Armenia, Azerbaijan (the exclave of Nakhchivan), Iran, Iraq and Syria. The Mediterranean Sea, the Aegean Sea Marmara Sea and the Black Sea are other borders of Turkey.

Separating Anatolia and Thrace are the Sea of Marmara and the Turkish Straits (the Bosphorus and the Dardanelles), which are commonly reckoned to describe the boundary between Europe and Asia. Therefore Turkey is a transcontinental country, 97 % of its territory lies in Asia and 3% of its territory lies in Europe.

Turkey’s population is 82 million in 2019. Turkey’s area is 783.562 km². Turkey is a member of NATO since 1955, OECD and G-20.